Using a dead man’s library card

Sometimes, I still use a dead man’s library card… The card belonged to my dad, and I still have it on my key ring even though I have my own card in my wallet. Sometimes, I accidentally swipe his when I check out books, and I don’t realize it until I select an email receipt and the machine tells me my receipt has been sent to my dad’s email.

Well, that’s a receipt I’ll never see again. I still can’t access my dad’s email. I don’t know the password, and his security question is so vague that I don’t want to risk being locked out entirely by guessing wrong too many times. Unfortunately, Yahoo refuses to release passwords for the deceased. Apparently there’s some clause you agree to in their terms of service, which renders it pretty much impossible for your surviving loved ones to gain access to your correspondence without your exact password at time of death. They say it’s to protect your privacy, I say it’s ridiculous.

I wish I could read his emails. I wish I knew him well enough to be able to guess his password. I just want a little insight into his mind… I want to read his words again. I want to see who he spoke to… Not to mention that, in the midst of death, I needed to access emails from his various accounts.

And now I need to access my library receipt so I know when my books are due.

What a waste, a whole inbox is sitting there, locked.

I wish I had asked him more questions. I wish he had told me more stories.

The other day, my friend was telling me about the funny details of the day of his birth, and he wanted to know about mine. I told him there was no one left for me to ask for that information.

No one left.

There’s no one left for me to ask about the firsthand account of my birth. No one left to ask about the moment my mom knew my dad was the one. No one left to ask about what kind of daughter I was, or who they hoped I’d become.

I didn’t intend for this post to be sad. I mean, of course it’s going to be sad, but I thought at least it could be quirky, a clever/bitter-sweet comment on the sudden cut-off moment that is death, on the jarring experiences of surviving life, and on how we may continue for years to use the same dead person’s library card without realizing it.

I can’t believe that I’m finally referring to my dad in the past tense– not only that, but I’m even referring to him as “a dead person” and “the deceased.” For a while I couldn’t even write the word “dead,” I had to say, “gone” or “left.” I don’t like that I can say it now. I don’t know how I feel about it. I’m sorry if it’s wrong.

I sit on little thoughts like this one. I sit, and I’ve stopped writing about them, so I’m writing it now. I’m typing about death on my lunch break. Maybe it’ll become part of the book I finish one day, the book I told myself I would write about this orphan experience. To do that, though, I have to re-immerse myself in the grief fog that at times seems lighter, and I don’t always want to stay in that shadow. It won’t leave me, I know that, but I don’t always want to stay immersed in it…

Either way, I wrote this post today, about death and library cards and email accounts and lost information… I wrote what I could, and I’m publishing it now. I’m sure it’ll come back to me later, I have to return that book in two weeks… I think.

One thought on “Using a dead man’s library card

  1. I’m sorry you don’t have stories about your birth. Let me offer this in a general way: Loving people waited for you, Robyn. They cared for you long before you could take your first breath, and then they got to meet you. They thought you were beautiful. They laughed when you gurgled and smiled when you pooped. Your parents probably talked about which one of them you looked like most. They didn’t know exactly what to do with you, but learned as you grew. They were good teachers. They didn’t have a clue about what kind of life you would have, what they would share with you and what they would miss so sadly. But that didn’t stop them from bringing you to be, and giving you what they could give. What they didn’t give you about your birth story, gives you the chance to wonder. Blessings, Robyn.
    5 mins · Like

Leave a Reply

