Still Haven’t Found…

I used to think U2’s “Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” was a great song, but also a sad one.

wpid-20150207_172018.jpgI believe in the kingdom come
When all the colors will bleed into one, bleed into one
But yes I’m still running.
You broke the bonds and You loosed the chains
Carried the cross of my shame, of my shame
You know I believe it
But I still haven’t found what I’m looking for.

I used to hear that and think, “No, see, Bono, that was it. You found it. Right there.” I would think about how sad it was that those words weren’t enough for Bono, that he still felt lost and searching even though he believed in Jesus. How could he still feel the need to search for anything else? What, exactly, is he looking for that Jesus can’t satisfy?

Now that I’m reaching my mid-twenties, roaming in search of community, home, and still reeling from the loss of my last surviving parent, I think I’m starting to see where he’s coming from, that lifelong search…

The song hits me in a new way, and tears stream down my face as I try to drive home. I believe it, Jesus, you know I believe it, but I still feel lost and confused. I believed it, but where has it led me? Where am I going? I’m seeing as through a mirror darkly. I want more, but I don’t know what that more is. I want TRUTH, but I’m terrified of finding out I’ve been lied to… I’m afraid of everything I’ve built around me since the age of 5 unraveling and falling to pieces.

C.S. Lewis says God has to knock down our house of cards just so we can finally see that it was a house of cards after all. But then what’s left?

Someone once spoke to me in prayer three years ago about a vision of myself wrapped tightly in bandages and cloth that were slowly being unraveled so that I could see…

I know it was also Bono who said, “For all that ‘I was lost, I am found,’ it is probably more accurate to say, ‘I was really lost. I’m a little less so at the moment.’ And then a little less and a little less again. That to me is the spiritual life. The slow reworking and rebooting the computer at regular intervals, reading the small print of the service manual. It has slowly rebuilt me in a better image. It has taken years, though, and it is not over yet.”

Am I “rebooting?” Where am I going?

I’m almost finished with my reread of the Harry Potter series and I don’t know where to go next. It has been such a comfort to me, a way for me to escape, to remember, to believe in love, and to work through my emotions. I’m afraid. I’m finding it hard to pick up my Bible anymore, and I’ve let the mirror collect dust so that now the Image I see dimly is even hazier and darker than before. I don’t know where to turn.

I’m cynical and I’m tired. Some days I’m afraid to even look into the mirror, and then I’m afraid I’ve gone too long without doing so… How do I begin to go back again? How do I clean off the dust? How do I accept that it’ll never be truly clear? I hope I’m not too far gone.

wpid-20150208_071238.jpg

Let there be Light, and let it warm my bones.

6 thoughts on “Still Haven’t Found…

  1. Thanks, Robyn. The track that follows “I Still Haven’t Found…” on The Joshua Tree is “With or Without You.” It’s a love song, but it’s also a song of longing, with fear of what is longed for. The only truth in “With or Without You” is the declarative, “You give yourself away” repeated over and over. “You gave it all, still I want more… and you give yourself away.” I hear Jesus in that. I hear that Jesus will continue giving because that’s what Jesus does: Give from God’s own self, to people like you (and me) who still want more.

  2. Robyn, I just clicked onto this post from Facebook. I have lost track of you in the years since our CPR days, but it’s encouraging to read how deeply you are still engaging in your spiritual life. Obviously I hear the desolation and sense of being “lost” in your writing–perhaps it’s strange to say that this is encouraging! Yet through my own years in spiritual wilderness, I have come to value and respect honest yearning for God so enormously. It’s heartening to see that you are asking the hard questions and wrestling with God, demanding blessing as Jacob once did. Perhaps everything you’ve built and believed since age 5 will be stripped away; more likely, you will sift it and discover deeper wisdom that, while less blithe and cheery, ring truer in your depths.
    A bit of insight that has been a touchstone in my journey: I have often felt that relationship with God is less than what I thought it would be, or less than what I need. I’ve felt confused and betrayed. Then I hear myself echoing the disciples, when Jesus asked if they were still going to stick it out with him: “who else offers the words of life?” As Job said, “though You slay me, still I will trust in you.” Bleak though it may sound, that is the bedrock of my faith: as tough as it gets, as disillusioned as I may be, I stick it out with Christ because there is no sweeter alternative. And sometimes that trust is inutterably sweet.
    Wishing you well, sister.

    • Thank you so much, Ariell. Your words are encouraging. I especially like the notion of “sifting” as opposed to losing everything, and deeper wisdom lies at the end of it… thank you.

  3. Pingback: Easter won’t let me go… | evermind: Chased by Light

  4. Pingback: Skits of My Past and The Road I’m On | evermind: Chased by Light

Leave a Reply

