Longing for Love

So, I’ve been watching a lot of romantic movies lately…

Actually, I’m not sure if that’s true, but I have been watching a lot of movies lately that have romantic elements– don’t they all? You know, it also probably doesn’t help that my sister-in-law and I love to watch all those bridal shows on TLC…

Anyway, as I’ve been watching all these love stories, I’ve noticed a longing in my heart, a deep desire for someone to share life with me. Something in my heart resonated with those stories of two people who don’t care where they live, how much money they have, what jobs they can get, as long as they can be together and keep loving each other.

Something in my heart cried, “I want that.”

It was as if I were saying to myself: I could handle this-and-this, I could get through that-and-that… I could live somewhere I don’t want to, I could have a job I don’t like, I could even have hardly a cent to my name, as long as I had someone with me, someone to love me, someone in whom to find joy.

So I had to remind myself: Robyn, you have all of that and more already.

Two years ago, I wrote a blog about how close we are to the greatest love there is. (I’m even reusing the picture for this post.) I wrote about the God who loves me more than I can even begin to understand. That is the love I have, right now and forever. That is love that enables me to go through anything and come out rejoicing.

I’ve already got Someone to share life with me– better than that, Someone who wants to give me abundant life. It doesn’t matter where I live, what I do, how much much stuff I have, because I am in love with the Lover of my soul.

I want this truth to be present in my mind at all times. I want to fall more in love with my God every day. I don’t want to long for someone else. I don’t want to feel like I need someone else.

God, make Your love real to me. I know that it is, but remind me please. Help me to love You more and more each day, each minute. Help me to continuously give You my heart, that each day would be like a wedding celebration with the one true Love of my life.

Leave a Reply

