Like a newborn baby, part two

Last year, I spent some time with my infant niece and wrote a post about 1 Peter 2:1-3: Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good.

I was convicted by the way my newborn niece craved her mother’s milk, how she was hungry all the time, and how she knew her mother would provide for her.

This summer, I have gotten to watch her crave not only milk but solid foods as well, and let me tell you, her hunger has not ceased one bit. She barely chews the noodle in her mouth before she’s pointing to the table nd asking for more. Sometimes, she cries when all the food is gone or when mommy is eating something she can’t have. I love to watch her eat because she is always ready for more. Everything mommy gives her, she eats, and she eats eagerly.

Her sister, on the other hand, at four-years-old is extremely picky. Sometimes, it’s a fight just to get her to eat three bites of her lunch. Last week, I watched my sister-in-law try desperately to get her to eat the applesauce she had asked for, but she fought every second of the way. She was told that she wasn’t going to get any other food until dinner time, but still she wouldn’t eat. She cried like she was being tortured, but all her mother was trying to do was to give her some nourishment so that she wouldn’t starve. After about an hour of fighting, the lunch was taken away, but her mother still gave her a snack because she couldn’t bear to leave her hungry.

What happens? What happens between the time a child will eat everything and anything mommy puts in front of her to the time when she stubbornly refuses everything and barely eats at all?

I wrote both examples in my journal, the baby and the four-year-old, and I asked God, “Which one am I?”

I don’t want to be the child who fights her Daddy, the child who refuses to address the hunger inside of her, the child who pokes at and plays with her food, but doesn’t eat it.

I want to be the daughter who eagerly gobbles up everything that comes from the Father’s hand, the child who constantly seeks out nourishment from her Father, the child who knows that anything the Father gives her is for her good, and so she accepts it and embraces it. I want to crave my Lord constantly, even as I grow older, and I want to trust in Him to completely satisfy.

One thought on “Like a newborn baby, part two

Leave a Reply

