Fears, Victories, and Wilderness Places

I want to write about a couple things today.

First, I think it only fair to report what happened with the various events causing me to feel wimpy the other day, because I really saw God come through and take the fear away after I laid it before Him.

So, first class of the day with the professor who’s a stickler about time: He hands us back our papers (and I actually did pretty well), and tells us that we can make corrections and turn them in the next day to receive extra points. What a great way to start a day I was dreading!

Next, we move through geology and into my workshop class: I’m the last person to have their story talked about, but I’m actually less worried than I had been before. God had already been working in me to let it go and just relax… And then we get to my story, and people talk about how it was really cool and intriguing, and yeah there were criticisms, but they were things that I understood and welcomed, because I wanted to make the story better, and overall people liked it. Maybe I am still a writer after all.

And oh! The dinner party with strangers— so much fun. And ironically enough, one person told me he thought I was “pretty brave” for being there. God is funny, but so so good.

Does this mean everything’s better? No. But it does mean that God sees my fears, and He wants to come in and show me how pointless they are, and I welcome His ways to remind me of that, and to remind me that He takes care of me.

That being said, God has been speaking to me a lot lately (and even before I left Scotland), about deserts and wastelands. You might recall I’ve talked about Isaiah 43 before, how God promises to make a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland. Well, a few weeks ago I was listening to a sermon and the pastor was talking about the feeding of the 5,000, but then he started talking about where the 5,000 were and the green grass and everything, and he said something like, “The God of the Old Testament specialized in feeding His people in the wilderness places.” It struck me as random, but I know his statement was purposeful, and God wanted me to hear it, so I wrote it down.

God makes a way, creates a river, and feeds us in the wilderness.
But that’s not all:

Hosea 2:14– Therefore I am now going to allure her; I will lead her into the desert 
and speak tenderly to her.

He speaks to our hears there too.

God revealed that verse to me this week when I was hurting and struggling with sin, and Hosea 2:14-23 has become the passage I’m clinging to right now. Yes, God has led me into this desert, but it is not so that I can crumple and despair in a valley or hide away in fear of the wasteland.

My God is a God who meets His people in wilderness places, who carves out a way for them, quenches them with living water, feeds them with the bread of life, and speaks tenderly to their hearts. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Fears, Victories, and Wilderness Places

  1. Pingback: The Alluring Wilderness « Cheryl Meakins

  2. Thanks for connecting with me! I love to link to other blogs that are touching on the same ideas and when I read this post, I caught my breath! I’ve found a sister :) You certainly have a very engaging voice. I found myself walking along with you and rejoicing that someone else finds the sacred beauty in the wilderness, the wasteland and the rain. May the Lord Bless You!

Leave a Reply

