Good, pleasing, and perfect.

I wanted to take a moment to say hello to everyone out their reading this/following my blog. Thank you so much for your support, I hope you enjoy what you read. As you may or may not know, I’m currently studying in Scotland, taking each day as it comes, and seeing what the Lord has for me here. I apologize for not writing more posts about this exciting journey! Sometimes, I feel like I have so much to say, but I just don’t know how to say it…

Overall, though, I just can’t get over God’s grace, goodness, and His perfect plan — and that He chooses to work in and through flawed human beings like me.

In breaking down His blessings bit by bit, I want to tell you about an extraordinary occurrence:

I’ve been church searching for a few weeks, but last Sunday I was going to stay home, since I’d already found a church I loved that meets on Wednesday nights, and I wasn’t particularly feeling the Sunday services I had attended recently. However, a little while after I woke up Sunday morning, I just felt the desire to go to a particular church near my flat. It was the Spirit leading me, so I followed. I quickly got dressed and hurried over. Surprised and a bit put off, I got there to realize that most of the people I had met the week before weren’t even in attendance… I wasn’t alone for long, though, as I got swept into a group of Chinese students who’d never actually been to church before and were jut interseted in what this Christianity thing was all about. –What? What?

Okay, so, for a while, now God and I have had this ongoing conversation where I think about the story Philip and the Ethiopian in Acts 8, how the Ethiopian just happened to be reading the part of Isaiah that foretold about Christ just as Philip was passing along… and I often tell God it would be pretty super awesome if I could ever have an experience like that.

Well, I think this Sunday was one of those moments. After the service, I got to talking to one of the girls — and what a Spirit-led conversation it was! I didn’t do anything but make myself available; God and this remarkable woman did the rest. She was bold, asking me all sorts of questions about Christianity, what it means to pray, why we read the Bible, and my own personal faith; and she really wanted to hear the answers, to learn, to process it all. I didn’t go over to her to preach Christ to her; she came over to me, seeking. It was so beautiful.

By the end of Philip’s conversation with the Ethiopian, the Ethiopian puts his faith in Christ. That didn’t happen at the end of our conversation, but it didn’t need too. God is doing a mighty work, and I trust His timing. I praise Him for letting me be a part of the beginnings, and for reminding me (in more ways than one) that this is where I am supposed to be at this particular point in time. He has led me here, and He hasn’t steered me wrong yet.

Cheers. <3

Leave a Reply

