A Drink from the Cup of Redemption

Last year, I wrote a blog post about the experience of having Communion as my first meal of the day. This morning, I had my first taste of Communion wine and thought I’d take the time to write another post about the symbolic genius of the Lord’s Supper.

Normally, whenever I have drunk from the cup that is to symbolize Christ’s blood, I’ve tasted grape juice. This juice still serves as a mighty symbol, being that the grapes are crushed and squeezed and poured out as a sanguine liquid to symbolize the blood of the new covenant. However, I have to explain that drinking wine instead affords quite a different experience.

When I first tasted the wine, it was strong and it went down sharply. It was tart and revitalizing, and filled my chest with warmth as it spread down my body. The wine filled me and comforted me, it sparked in me a fire that wouldn’t easily go out, and the taste stayed with me long after the cup had passed.

I know I may love symbolism a bit too much, but I couldn’t stop thinking about that drink of wine and about how perfect God is to choose such a symbol to represent the blood of His son that covers sin and makes us righteous. His body was broken to make us whole. His blood redeems and rejuvenates our souls. Grape juice has a particular taste, but the wine was sharper, it had a kick to it — I could not taste that sip of wine without feeling different inside… Because Christ’s blood transforms me.

Sing your songs of freedom,
Praise the God of Heaven,
Love that never fails me,
Jesus’ blood, Jesus’ blood.

2 thoughts on “A Drink from the Cup of Redemption

  1. Pingback: Big Medicine and Strong Magic | evermind: Chased by Light

  2. Pingback: Thin Places | evermind: Chased by Light

Leave a Reply

