Beyond the Blue

Lately, the road ahead has looked something like this:

It’s blurry and out of focus. I can see glimpses of pretty lights and fun colors ahead, but I don’t know exactly how to get there and I can’t see the end. All I can walk towards is darkness, the unknown, as the world shifts around me.

However, in the midst of all this swirling chaos, I’ve come across the music of Josh Garrels, and his lyrics pierce my heart. His words are Spirit-filled, and they hit me right where I’m at:

Hide your spirit in the Vine
Where all things will work by a good design
For those who will believe
And let go of all we cannot hold onto
For the hope beyond the blue.
Said I let go of all I could not hold onto
For the hope I have in You.

I am about to go beyond the blue, quite literally. I’m crossing a real, tangible, physical ocean, and I don’t really know what I’ll find on the other side, but I have hope that God has something in store for me there. I have to let go of all that I try to hold so close, of all that I’m not really supposed to hold anyway. I have to let go, and give it all to Him, and let Him lead me beyond the blue.

I will arise and follow You over
Savior, please, pilot me.
Over the waves and through every sorrow,
Savior please, pilot me.
When I have no more strength left to follow,
Fall on my knees, pilot me.
May your sun rise and lead me on,
Over the seas, Savior, pilot me.

That is the cry of my heart. Lord, pilot me. And as you do, I hear these words:

Like a serpent and a dove, you will have wisdom born of love
And carry visions from above into the places no man dares to follow-
Every hollow in the dark of night, waiting for the light,
Take the flame tonight.
Because child, time has come for you to go
You will never be alone.

Every dream that you have been shown
Will be like a living stone
Building you into a home,
A shelter from the storm.

I do not know what lies ahead, but I know that God will never leave me, and He will use this path to change me, and to change others too. This last verse of the song above speaks to the dreams of my heart:

Like the wolf at midnight howls,
You use your voice in darkest hour
To break the silence and the power
Holding back the others from their glory.
Every story will be written soon.

Because child, time has come for you to go
You will never be alone.

Every dream that you have been shown
Will be like a living stone
Building you into a home,
A shelter from the storm.

[Josh Garrels is giving away his latest album for FREE. Get it here and enjoy <3]
6 thoughts on “Beyond the Blue

  1. I love the realization of letting go, of relinquishing control. Though it is not favorable nor comfortable, trust becomes an embodiment of wealth, more extravagant than riches.

    Robyn, I am proud of the maturation you are trudging through. Granted, it is scarcely far from appealing or desirable. Continue the process, despite the frustrations, which harass and stifle the motivation and courage, it takes to own this journey. Again, I am so very proud of you.

    • Thank you so much, Nick! You comment is so encouraging. I’m definitely trying to trudge through letting go and growing in faith, though I’m noticing that even though I can put up posts like this, it’s a whole other thing entirely to believe it and trust and let go in every moment of the struggle. But I just want to keep going and giving it all over to the Lord… Thank you for reading and for commenting. Love.

  2. Pingback: From following God Beyond the Blue to waiting on my Desert Father | Chased by Light

  3. Pingback: Dealing with Fear | evermind: Chased by Light

Leave a Reply

