The Father of Heavenly Lights

So, I took a ridiculous amount of photographs on the Fourth of July… Oh my goodness, I had so much fun photographing fireworks! I’ve been wanting to show them off, but I haven’t decided on the right way to do so yet…
And then I got the idea for a post in which a firework photo might be somewhat appropriate… It’s a stretch, but here we go :)

The cd burner on my laptop stopped working right about the time the cd player in my car started to work again… Which means I’ve been listening to a bunch of old cds, since I can’t make any new ones. Well, on one such cd-trip down memory lane, I rediscovered my love for the song “Green” by Brendan James. The first two lines of this song get me every time:

Zeppelin never left her, never died or second guessed her, painted on her body
The stars would never hurt her, never lie, never desert her, painted on her body

I don’t know if I can wholly explain why these lyrics get to me, but I just think it’s the idea that this girl he’s singing about was craving something she could count on… She wanted a constant, she wanted hope that wouldn’t desert her, and she found that in the stars and in music. She could always count on the stars to be in the sky every night, shining down on her. She could always count on music to be there to lift her up, to never judge or abandon her…

It’s so beautiful, and yet so sad at the same time.

But in a world of constant change, loss, pain and turmoil, stars can give us a glimpse of the stability we long for, and music offers us the power to hold on, to know that we are not alone… But better still is the Creator of such examples, for He is our true source of security.

He is the Father of Heavenly Lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. (James 1:17)

So I rewrite these lyrics, because heavenly music draws us to the One our souls truly long for. One day the stars will fail, but His love and His word stand forever:

God never left her, though He died to resurrect her…
Her God would never hurt her, never lie, never desert her,

Painted on her body — Still another will write on his hand, “The Lord’s.” (Isaiah 44:5)

3 thoughts on “The Father of Heavenly Lights

  1. Beautiful rewrite and inspiring thoughts, change is norm in our world weather or not we start it or like it, but how strengthened we are to know and completely rely on our unchanging ever present maker, He is the same Yesterday, Now-Today and Forever.

  2. Pingback: Cha-Cha-Cha-Changes | Chased by Light

Leave a Reply

