Like a newborn baby

A couple of weeks ago, I spent some lovely time with my family and my new niece who was only about a month old. It was such a wonderful visit, but it was also the first time I had ever been around a newborn baby. The first thing I noticed was that she’s hungry … all the time. Seriously. Every time we came over to the house, my sister-in-law would be feeding her. Then the baby would sleep for a bit, and then eat again. She ate about every hour or so, and if feeding time came a few minutes late, she’d cry and cry until her mother finally fed her.

Throughout that week, then, I was constantly reminded of this verse, 1 Peter 2:1-3:

Therefore, rid yourselves of all malice and all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and slander of every kind. Like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good.

Yes, there are other verses which say that we grow from milk to solid food as we mature in the Lord (Hebrews 5:11-14), but I think this verse can still speak to all of us.

I never really understood the full meaning of this metaphor until I spent that week with my niece. She craves that milk. She can barely even go an hour without it. She wakes up in the middle of the night to drink it. She is constantly fueled by the nourishment of the milk. She knows that she needs it and doesn’t hesitate to ask (or cry out) for it. She knows that nothing else will satisfy. She also knows that when she asks, her mother will not turn her away.

I want to crave the pure spiritual milk that brings nourishment to my soul. I have tasted and seen that the Lord is good, so why do I forget? Why do I move on as if other things could satisfy just as well? Why do I go through my day without coming to my Father every hour for milk and sustenance?

The other day, God led me to another verse about babies and milk. Psalm 131:

My heart is not proud, O LORD, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me. But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me. O Israel, put your hope in the LORD both now and forevermore.

A weaned child still craves nourishment from her mother, but she knows and trusts that her mother will deliver. She does not have to cry out and wail every time she is hungry, every time she feels like feeding time is a little late. She simply asks, and waits for her mother to feed her.

I love that God brought those two verses together for me. He is saying, “Baby girl, I know you crave the pure spiritual milk. Don’t worry, I will fill you up.”

I want to crave Jesus, I want to constantly come to Him for nourishment, to sustain me moment by moment, but I also want to rest and trust that He will deliver, He will not disappoint. I can rest against my Father as I grow in my salvation.

Amen.

(Note – I didn’t actually take this picture, but i think it still counts for “practicing seeing” because I chose it carefully to go along with this post. ^_^)
3 thoughts on “Like a newborn baby

  1. Hi Robyn, I found your blog because Karen Walrond tweeted about you, and I was intrigued because you share my name! I loved this blog post. I am always impressed when I see such spiritual maturity in someone so young. I’m going to have to read this post again, because it gave me a lot to ponder. Keep on keeping on in the faith, and I look forward to reading more of your work!

    • Thanks so much, Robyn! I’m glad my little God moments can bring wisdom and insight to others as well. :) Your comment was such an encouragement.

  2. Pingback: Like a newborn baby, part two | Chased by Light

Leave a Reply

