Who am I? (Some Musings)

I’m working on an application right now that asks me to “Please, introduce yourself and outline why you wish to join our program. Include any relevant information such as academic achievements, personal interests, and career goals.”

…Is that who I am?

Honestly, I don’t even know what to say because I’m just a girl with a passion for Jesus. And I want to join your study abroad program because I want to see where God is taking me and I want to share Jesus with the people at your school. (I can say all this now, but I hope it really comes out into actions when I get there.)

Academic achievements… I could provide a list, but I don’t think that’s really who I am. And I don’t think you really need me to tell you, since you’ll be receiving my transcripts and two academic reference letters.

And career goals?

Wow, that’s a toughy.

I struggle with this every time I’m in my seminar class about “higher education.” Because, frankly, I’m not really in college to get a job. I mean, I suppose when it comes down to it, yes, that’s why I’m getting a degree, because a degree gives you opportunities you wouldn’t otherwise get in the career world, BUT … It’s not like I have any idea of where I’ll go or what I’ll do. And I’m okay with that. (wow, never thought I’d say that.) It’s not like I have a career planned out. (I hate that question, “Oh, English…What are you planning to do with that?”) Does it really matter? My “goal” is to do something I love while using what I’ve been given to give to others and show them how much God loves them. If that’s in my career, awesome. If that’s something I do with a job on the side, that’s fine too.

I wonder if this’ll fly on an application form?

I don’t want to be defined by my “academic achievements” or my “career goals” or what school I go to or what major I am or anything else I can put in a tiny box on a piece of paper. (This is why it takes me so long to finish applications…)

I just want Jesus. He created me, He can define all that I am.

That seems like a tangent, but really, it’s the truth.

Thanks for letting me get it out.

One thought on “Who am I? (Some Musings)

  1. Pingback: images of Jesus - portrait of jesus christ, historical context

Leave a Reply

