If Grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.

“For many, romantic love is the closest experience of pure grace. Someone at last feels that I – I! – am the most desirable, attractive, companionable creature on the planet. Someone lies awake at night thinking of me. Someone forgives me before I ask, thinks of me when he gets dressed, orders his life around mine. Someone loves me just the way I am.” – Philip Yancey, What’s So Amazing About Grace?

My friends, we have this someone already!

Yes, I, a single twenty-something college student, have already met the One who loves me just the way I am. The One who thinks of me constantly. The One who forgives me before I ask – who has already forgiven me for all eternity.photo taken by my friend along Galilee

So why do I live as though I haven’t?

Why do I go about my days feeling like I’m not good enough, like I’ll never find love, like I’ll never do anything right?

Psalm 139:17-18 says “How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand!”

God’s thoughts for you, for me, outnumber the grains of sand. …What?

Trust me, I just spent a month in a desert. That’s a LOT of thoughts.

He is thinking about you and me constantly, all the time, even when we aren’t thinking about Him. Even when we aren’t thinking about anything. While we’re sleeping, God is thinking about us, and He can’t wait for us to wake up in the morning to greet the new day He has for us.

I forgot about this. Two months ago, I had it written in a journal and read it every day, and now I’ve forgotten.

The God of the Universe thinks about me, constantly. And you. And the whole world. We are always on His mind. He never forgets about us, though so many times I forget the things I’ve learned about Him.

A friend the other day asked me a seemly simple question, “How are you enjoying life? Making use of the endless grace made available?

What if we talked like this all the time? What if we reminded each other daily of that pure grace, of that perfect love of God – the greatest love there is?

I don’t ever want to forget.

Back in February, I wrote a similar post on this topic that you can read here: My Beautiful Rescue

Leave a Reply

