Getting Into You

He said, “I love you, and that’s what you are getting yourself into.”

I leave for my Adventures in Missions trip to Israel in one week…

I am…
Excited, yet…
So scared, and nervous.

I feel…
Unprepared. Unqualified.
And overwhelmed.

Today, God provided a song for me, “Getting Into You” by Relient K. It was totally unrelated to anything (so I thought). I was just sitting with my friend talking about music, and she grabbed her guitar and started playing some of the chords, then she searched for the song and made me listen to it.
And I came home and haven’t stopped listening to it.

It’s perfect.

Because lately, when I think about all of the overwhelming details of the coming week and the month ahead…
I start to freak out and wonder, “What the heck am I getting myself into?”

And then God provides this song, with this closing line:
“I love you, and that’s what you are getting yourself into.”

That’s all I need, that simple phrase,
And peace rushes over me.

It says,
“Whatever you are getting into, it is God-driven, and God will surround you and carry you.”

I’m getting into You
because You got to me,
In a way words can’t describe.
I’m getting into You
Because I’ve got to be,
You’re essential to survive.
I’m gonna love You with my life.

3 thoughts on “Getting Into You

  1. There is an empty space…the time that passes between revelations…a lull during which I wonder…who am I that the God of the Universe should reveal Himself to me? I am a sinner. Do I deserve forgiveness? Do I even believe in it? Doubts and fears attack me and I feel worried and unstable. What if this had been my last breath? Suffocating, I am too frozen to breathe. Faith should be constant. Faith should be certain. Faith should be flawless. Today there is a crack in my armor revealing just how weak and flawed I am. Again I ask why. But, in my heart of hearts, I know the Truth…and He promises to set me free…free of those things that make me doubt and stumble. He promises “a spirit of power, love, and a sound mind”. There is no way that I could qualify for eternal life…except that it is a gift, and not something to be earned.

    This is the pivotal moment when I can either turn and flee into the darkness, or fall to my knees…which should be easy. But instead, it takes all of the strength that I can gather. Once there, He prompts me to pray and I choose…I CHOOSE…to reach out beyond my doubt…reach out to a God who knows me by name…a God who once again welcomes me home, with a spirit of glory and grace, despite my doubts and flaws. He has been with me all the while…and He already knows how strong I am. This has been a test to show ME that I am indeed strong enough to fulfill His purpose for me. And with childlike faith I know now that I can do this. “ Here am I…send me.”

    I realize that I am strong enough…that His test did not break me…and now I understand. I trust Him, and once again He steadies me and holds me fast until I recover my balance and find my center. My faith is restored. I am firmly grounded…and I inhale and exhale without reservation or worry…but instead with confidence, not in myself, but in the Triune God who holds my life, as He always has, in the palm of His hand.

    “Turn your eyes upon Jesus, look full in His wonderful face. And the things of earth will grow strangely dim…in the light of His glory and grace.”

  2. (I stumbled upon this through one of AIM’s tweets)
    I’ve been thinking the exact same thing about this song lately! I’ve actually known the song for quite some years now, but within the last year I started playing it on my guitar again, and it’s made me think of what I’m “getting into” myself. I’m going on my first overseas mission trip to the former Soviet Union (Belarus) this July, and already the same feelings you’ve explained are hitting me. I really don’t know what I’m getting into and I feel unprepared and not even deserving of such an important role. I’ve been trying not to think of the details, because I don’t even know where to start. I have a hard enough time taking any role of leadership anyway, so thinking about stepping out of my own comfort zone is terrifying and exciting all at the same time. I too, think that this song is saying that whatever you’re diving into, as long as it’s what God intended, then he’ll make sure it’s carried out regardless of our own qualifications because he comes through in our weakness.
    So thanks for sharing! Good to know there’s someone just as much scared and excited as I am. ;)

    Kelsey

  3. Pingback: Dealing with Fear | evermind: Chased by Light

Leave a Reply

