White shores are calling, you and I will meet again.

So, I thought I would take some time to explain my username.

It’s a name I came up wth in high school when I had another blog, and I really like using it.

Like most of the user names I came up with when I was younger, it has to do with The Lord of the Rings. :)

In The Two Towers, they mention a flower called simbelmynë (pronounced: simble’mooneh). In Old English, this word means “ever mind.” It is a small white flower that grows on the tombs of the kings of Rohan:

(screen capture from The Two Towers movie)

Upon their western sides the grass was white as with a drifted snow: small flowers sprang there like countless stars amid the turf. “Look!” said Gandalf. “How fair are the bright eyes in the grass! Evermind they are called, simbelmynë in this land of Men, for they blossom in all the seasons of the year, and grow where dead men rest.”

I really liked this idea when I was younger, this idea, I guess, that the dead were always with us… that we would always remember them.

When I chose this, it was a promise to my mom, I think. This identity was a statement that no matter where I went or what I did in life, I would always remember her. She would always be a part of me.

I just love that phrase “ever mind…” ever mindful, remembering those that came before us, those that are now waiting to greet us at the finish line. My mom, my grandmother and grandfather, my friend Melissa, the family members I never met…

Hebrews 12:1 says, “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw of everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”

Now, I think the writer is referring to the great champions of faith listed in the previous chapter: Abraham, Joseph, Moses, etc…

But I once heard this verse taught as an encouragement that there are people in Heaven cheering us on, “a great cloud of witnesses.” Which then, immediately, made me think of my mother…

“They blossom in all seasons.” Evermind.

7 thoughts on “White shores are calling, you and I will meet again.

  1. Pingback: Ten. | evermind: Chased by Light

  2. Pingback: Sudden Change | evermind: Chased by Light

  3. Pingback: What I’m taking in these days… | evermind: Chased by Light

  4. Pingback: What I’m taking in these days… part 2. | evermind: Chased by Light

  5. Pingback: Grey Havens | evermind: Chased by Light

  6. Pingback: Blossom in all seasons… | evermind: Chased by Light

  7. Pingback: scary, stubborn hope | evermind: Chased by Light

Leave a Reply

